Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Change Your Status in Microsoft Teams

How to Change Your Status in Microsoft Teams

Change Your Status in Microsoft Teams

Your status gives other Teams users an at-a-glance indication of whether you're available to chat, busy in a meeting, or just temporarily away for a few minutes.

You can see your current status represented by an icon next to your profile picture in the upper-right corner. By default, your status is listed as "Available." Teams will automatically change your status when you're idle, in a meeting, or on a call.

Set a New Status

While Teams will automatically change your status when you’re busy or away, you can also manually set it.

  1. Click your profile picture in the upper right.
  2. Click your current status.
    Change Your Status

    A status menu appears, with several statuses to choose from.

  3. Select a new status.

    Change Your Status Available means you are online and available to meet or chat.

    Change Your Status Busy indicates that you are online but occupied by a call or meeting. Notifications will still appear.

    Change Your Status Do Not Disturb means that you are online, but do not want to be disturbed. Notifications will be hidden.

    Change Your Status Be Right Back means that you have stepped away for a few minutes and will return shortly.

    Change Your Status Appear Away will make it look like you are away from your computer, allowing you to work and respond to messages later.

    Change Your Status

Manually setting your status will prevent Teams from automatically setting it based on your activity.

Reset Your Status

Once you no longer need the status that you have manually set, you can reset it so that Teams will resume automatically setting it.

  1. Click your profile picture in the upper right.
  2. Select your current status.
    Change Your Status
  3. Select Reset status.
    Change Your Status

Your status is reset to Available and will change automatically based on your activity.

Set a Status Message

You can also set a custom status message to provide some extra information to your colleagues—for example, if you're working from home instead of the office.

  1. Click your profile picture in the upper right.
  2. Select Set status message.
    Change Your Status
  3. Enter a message in the text field.
  4. Click the Clear status message after list arrow.
  5. Select when you want the status message to expire.
    Change Your Status
  6. You can select one of the automatic options or select Custom and set another time. You can also select Never to keep your status until you clear it.

  7. Click Done.
    Change Your Status

The custom status message is set.

To clear a custom status manually, click your profile picture in the upper right and click the Delete this status message button.

FREE Quick Reference

Click to Download