How to Delete Cells in Excel
If you later decide you no longer need a group of cells, columns, or rows, you can delete them. Deleting a cell differs from clearing a cell’s content, as a “hole” is created by the deleted cell(s) and adjacent cells will move to fill that hole.
Pressing the Delete key only clears a cell’s contents; it doesn’t delete the actual cell.
The Delete dialog box appears.
You can also delete cells by right-clicking the selected cell(s) and selecting Delete from the contextual menu.
The cell(s) are deleted and the remaining cells are shifted.
The rows or columns are deleted. Remaining rows are shifted up, while remaining columns are shifted to the left.
Free to distribute with our compliments; we hope you will consider our paid training.