You see an upload notification while the file is saving, and once it's done, the file is saved in OneDrive for Business.
To co-author a file, open a file at the same time as another person. Any users in the file are listed at the top-right corner. Click a user’s name to see what they are currently editing. Any updates are saved and synced automatically.