Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Work with Versions

How to Work with Versions in Google Slides

Work with Versions

After you create a new presentation, every change or edit you make is recorded. The record of these changes is called the version history.

View Versions

  1. Click File on the menu bar.
  2. Select Version history.
  3. Select See version history.
    View Versions

    The Version history pane appears at the right showing all previous versions that have been auto-saved.

  4. Select a different version of the presentation.

    You see a preview of that version at the left.

  5. (Optional) Select the Show changes check box.
    View Versions

Any changes that were made are highlighted in green.

Create a Named Version

To make it easier to know which version is which, you can give it a name.

  1. Click the More actions button for the version you want to name in the Version history pane.
  2. Select Name this version.
    Create a Named Version
  3. Type a name for the version and click outside the name field.
    Create a Named Version

The name is saved and now it's easy to tell which version this is.

Restore a Version

  1. Select the version you want to restore in the version history pane.

    Selecting a version in this pane doesn't actually bring this version back. You could still click the back arrow and return to the current version.

  2. Click the Restore this version button.
    Restore a Version
  3. Click the Restore to confirm.
    Restore a Version

The older version is restored to the active version and you can continue making edits.

FREE Quick Reference

Click to Download