How to Delete Cells in Google Sheets
If you later decide you no longer need a group of cells, columns, or rows, you can delete them. Deleting a cell differs from clearing a cell's content, as a "hole" is created by the deleted cell(s) and adjacent cells will move to fill that hole.
The cell(s) are deleted.
You can also delete cells by right-clicking the selected cell(s) and selecting Delete from the contextual menu.
The rows or columns are deleted. Remaining rows are shifted up, while remaining columns are shifted to the left.