Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Change Access to Content

How to Change Access to Content in Google Drive

Change Access to Content

If you only want content shared for a period of time, you can set a sharing expiration date to make access temporary. You can set an expiration date for any file in Google Drive.

Set Sharing Expiration

  1. Select a shared file or folder you want to set expiration for.
  2. Click the Share button.
    Set Sharing Expiration

    You can also right-click the file or folder and select Share from the menu.

  3. Click Advanced.
    Set Sharing Expiration
  4. Click the Permissions list arrow to the right of the person’s name.
  5. Select Set expiration.
    Set Sharing Expiration

    By default, access is set to expire in 30 days.

  6. Click the Access expires button.
  7. Select a number of days option or set a custom date.
  8. Click Save changes.
    Set Sharing Expiration

A clock icon appears to indicate the content is set to expire for this person.

Remove Access

After a file is shared, you can remove access at any time.

  1. Select a file or folder you want to remove access to.
     Remove Access
  2. Click the Share button.

    You can also right-click the file or folder and select Share from the menu.

  3. Click Advanced.
     Remove Access
  4. Click the X icon to the right of a person’s name.
     Remove Access
  5. Click Save changes.  Remove Access

The sharing permissions for the user are removed.

Change Owner

You are the owner of every file and folder you create in or upload to Google Drive. As the owner, you can transfer ownership so someone else can manage advanced permissions for the content. Ownership can only be transferred to individuals within your school or organization.

  1. Select the file or folder you want to transfer ownership of.
  2. Click the Share button.
     Remove Access

    You can also right-click the file or folder and select Share from the menu.

  3. Click Advanced.
     Remove Access
  4. Click the Permissions list arrow to the right of the person’s name.
  5. Select Is owner.
     Remove Access
  6. Click Save changes.
     Remove Access
  7. Click Yes.

The person you selected is now the owner and can manage advanced permissions for this content.

FREE Quick Reference

Click to Download