Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Share Content

How to Share Content in Google Drive

Share Content

One of the most notable benefits of Google Drive is the ability to control what content is shared and who has access to it. You can tell by the sharing indicator to the right of an item’s name which folders and files are currently shared.

Share a File or Folder

  1. Select the file or folder you want to share.
  2. Click the Share button. Share Content

    You can also right-click the file or folder and select Share from the menu.

  3. Enter the email address(es) for the people you want to share the file or folder with.

    Sharing a folder with someone else gives them privileges to organize, add, and edit by default.

  4. Click the Permissions list arrow.
  5. Select a permissions level.
    • Can organize, add, & edit: People can open, edit, delete, or move any files within the folder, if they are signed in with a Google account. People can also add files to the folder.
    • Can view only: People can see the folder and are able to open all files within the folder.
    Share Content

    By default, people will be notified when they’re given access to content.

    You can also include a personal message.

  6. (Optional) Type a note.
  7. Click Send. Share Content

Get a Sharable Link

When you turn on link sharing, a link is generated for you to share with anyone you want to give access to.

  1. Select a file or folder you want a sharing link for.
  2. Click the Get sharable link button. Share Content

    The link is automatically copied to your clipboard.

  3. Click the Link sharing toggle. Share Content

    You can paste the link anywhere you’d like to reach your audience, such as in an email message, chat window, or document.

  4. Paste the copied link anywhere you want to share it.
  5. (Optional) Click Sharing settings in the link sharing pop-up to adjust privileges.

FREE Quick Reference

Click to Download