Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Google Drive Views

How to Switch Views in Google Drive

Google Drive Views

When you sign into Google Drive, My Drive is the default view.

To sign in, go to drive.google.com in a browser. Select your account, or, enter your email and click Next. Enter your password and click Next.

View My Drive

My Drive contains all of the files and folders you sync or upload, as well as any new Docs, Sheets, Slides, and Forms you create. The Quick Access section displays files that you’ve recently viewed or edited so you can quickly return to them. You can turn off the Quick Access section in your Drive settings if you don’t want it to appear. Below that, all of your folders and files display.

  1. Click My Drive in the navigation panel to expand it and see your folders.

    All of the folders you’ve created appear in the navigation panel. These same folders appear on the page to the right. You can open a folder from either location.

  2. Double-click a folder to open it. Google Drive Views

All of the folder’s contents display.

Switch to Other Views

You can select other views such as Priority, Shared with me, Recent, or Starred to see your files organized in different ways.

  1. Click a view in the navigation panel on the left side of the screen to switch views. Google Drive Views
A Priority: Displays files that Google finds most relevant, based on what has been recently opened, edited, or shared with you. B Recent: Makes it easy to pick up where you left off. Files are grouped by when they were last opened or modified.
C My Drive: Displays the files and folders you sync or upload, as well as any new Docs, Sheets, Slides, and Forms you create. D Starred: Displays files and folders you’ve flagged as important.
E Shared with me: Displays files that have been shared with you. These files aren’t included in your My Drive by default, but can be added as you see fit. F Trash: Shows content you’ve deleted. This content can be recovered if needed.

FREE Quick Reference

Click to Download