Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Work with Versions

How to Work with Versions in Google Docs

Work with Versions

After you create a new document, every change or edit you make is recorded. The record of these changes is called the version history.

View Versions

  1. Click File on the menu bar.
  2. Select Version history.
  3. Select See version history.
    Work with Versions
  4. The Version history pane appears at the right showing all previous versions that have been autosaved.

  5. Select a different version of the document.
  6. You’ll see a preview of that version at the left.

  7. (Optional) Select the Show changes check box.

    This allows you to see the changes that were made to a version.

    Work with Versions

Any changes that were made are highlighted in green.

Create a Named Version

You can name a version to make it easier to find.

  1. Click the More actions button for the version you want to name in the Version history pane.
  2. Select Name this version.
    Work with Versions
  3. Type a name for the version and click outside the name field.
    Work with Versions

The version is named.

Restore a Version

Now, selecting a version in this pane doesn't actually bring this version back; it just displays a preview. You could still click the back arrow and return to the current version.

  1. Select the version you want to restore in the version history pane.
  2. Click the Restore this version button.
    Work with Versions
  3. Click Restore to confirm.
    Work with Versions

The older version is restored to the active version and you can continue making edits.

FREE Quick Reference

Click to Download