Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Grade, Return, and Delete Assignments

How to Grade, Return, and Delete Assignments in Google Classroom

Grade, Return, and Delete Assignments

After you create assignments, they show up for students on the Classwork page. It's their responsibility to complete and turn them in by the due date. You can check the progress of an assignment on the Classwork page by clicking the assignment. This gives you an at-a-glance view of how many students have turned it in and how many additional students it's assigned to. When it’s time to review and grade assignments, you’ll do that from the Grades page.

Grade and Return Assignments

  1. Click the Grades tab.

    Here you see a table with each assignment listed at the top and separate cells to add a grade for every student in the class. If the assignment is past the due date, it displays as Missing for any students who didn't turn it in.

  2. Click the More button in the cell where you want to enter a grade.
  3. Select View submission.
    Create Assignments

    The completed assignment opens in a new browser tab. You can add a comment to the file using the icon on the left side of the Files pane. Or, view the file in a new browser tab without any of the grading options by clicking the icon to the right of the file name in the Files pane.

  4. Add a grade for the assignment.
  5. (Optional) Add a comment and click Post.
  6. Click the Return button.
    Create Assignments

    The dialog box notifies you that the student will now be able to view their grade.

  7. Click Return.
    Create Assignments

Once the assignment is graded, you can close the tab with the assignment to return to the gradebook.

Delete Assignments

If an assignment is no longer needed, simply delete it. Deleting an assignment removes it, along with any associated grades or comments, from Classroom. However, any files or attachments created in Google Drive will still remain. You’ll need to manually delete those in Drive if you don’t want to retain copies.

Be aware that deleting an assignment is permanent. There is no way to undo the deletion.

  1. On the Grades page, click the More button for an assignment.
  2. Select Delete.
    Create Assignments

    The dialog box notifies you that any grades and comments associated with the assignment will also be deleted.

  3. Click Delete.
    Create Assignments

FREE Quick Reference

Click to Download