Remove Unwanted Cells and Clean Up Your Spreadsheets in Google Sheets
Practice live in your browser. No software required.
4.00 hour Course Certificate
Free quick tips and shortcuts to use and share.
If you later decide you no longer need a group of cells, columns, or rows, you can delete them. Deleting a cell differs from clearing a cell's content, as a "hole" is created by the deleted cell(s) and adjacent cells will move to fill that hole.
The cell(s) are deleted.
You can also delete cells by right-clicking the selected cell(s) and selecting Delete from the contextual menu.
The rows or columns are deleted. Remaining rows are shifted up, while remaining columns are shifted to the left.